WHY WE ARE ALL PROJECTS

Anjie C. Nkweti
3 min readApr 14, 2018

At some point in our lives, we all are projects especially in different areas. I believe it is important for us to start the work on ourselves so that when we meet THE ONE, we will be a project at least 80% completed.

So this is to all my brothers out there and to my potential.

I believe that intelligence is not just about getting good grades in school.

That is just part of intellectual intelligence.

There are five other areas of intelligence which I think everyone should grow in to be a well rounded person.

Spiritual: Be deeply committed to God and let your life reflect it. I am surrendered to God and so if I’m to submit to you as a wife, you have to be totally submitted to Him.

According to Maya Angelou,

“A woman’s heart should be so hidden in God that a man has to seek Him just to find her.”

Therefore, if you have to find me, you can’t afford to be just a church goer. Dig deeper bro.

Intellectual: I already mentioned this one. The amount of degrees don’t really matter to me but hey! Be ready to explore the hidden parts of your brain, be current and please try to read widely. This is a deal breaker for me because I am on this journey of exploring every possible intellectual treasure and I read. If you have to spend your day watching movies, watch with a critical eye.

Emotional: Be in touch with your emotions. Guys, crying is NOT a form of weakness! We are all living in a world with uncertainties so pursue inner healing. I don’t want to be the object of your transferred emotion; that someday you’ll bark at me or worse, slap me and then say you didn’t know what got into you. No! Deal with yourself!

Social: Be intentional about learning social cues and interpersonal skills. It’s true that we are all victims of our upbringing and perhaps they taught you that saying thank you and sorry is an ajeboh lifestyle (I actually have met people like that) please, unlearn it. We will go out together and I would love to be proud that you know how to handle people and awkward situations.

Financial: Let your first thought be about tithing to God. Work hard and be intentional about becoming financially independent.

Save! Save! Save!

INVEST!

Take as much time thinking about how to spend money as it takes to earn it. Spend time to learn and accumulate knowledge about finances.

Self-awareness: I can give my opinion on what you may wear, I can look at your neck tie and tilt it a little but I would not tell you how to wash your clothes or that you need a cologne. More than anything, you’ll think my opinion is heaven and earth but you’ll have to cater for yourself. Notice that your beard is overgrown, notice that you need to iron your shirt. You mustn’t know how to cook but know how to whip up something that won’t kill you. Learn a skill apart from what you’re “naturally great at”.

These are not absolutes, just an honest opinion from yours truly, , and a few others who think like this. If you think of any other aspects we can work on, tell us in your comment below.

--

--

Anjie C. Nkweti

Cameroonian writer/i freeze words in time like a bouquet of beautifully wrapped memories.